Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Potomac State College

Psychology Subject Guide: Advanced Research

Guide to resources for PSYC 101 - Intro to Psych, PSYCH 203 - Research Methods & Analysis, PSYCH 232 - Sex Roles & Behavior, PSYC 241 - Developmental Psych, and PSYC 281 - Abnormal Psych

PSYC 200 Level (and Up) Resources

PsycINFO (APA) | UOC Library

PsycInfo

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus.

Not all content is freely available within this database. Ask a librarian if you need help finding an article.

PsycInfo is similar to PsycArticles but is also an index database so it may have abstracts and other information, but not always the full text of an article.

SAGE Knowledge - UCF Libraries

SAGE Knowledge

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus.

A collection of authoritative encyclopedias in the social sciences, including coverage for anthropology, criminology, environment, psychology, research methods, sociology, and women's studies.

DSM Library cover image

The DSM-5 (Click View eBook once the page loads)

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus.

The Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition is the authoritative source for information on the diagnosis of mental disorders. This is a critical resource for students in PSYC 281. Access provided by the American Psychological Association and WVU Libraries.

PSYC 232 - Sex Roles and Behavior

PsycArticles and PsycInfo's indexing/coverage of psychology related gender studies are limited, and in emerging mental health areas (especially for LGBT+ issues). If your research project explores these areas, please consider looking at these complementary databases.

Context - FYS #006 -- Decisions & Revisions - Research Guides at Drake  University

Gender Studies Database

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus.

This is an EBSCO database and works very similar to PsycArticles and PsycInfo.

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues and the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites. This database includes more than 921,000 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to the present.

GenderWatch | Florida State University Libraries

GenderWatch

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus.

Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, providing historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

PSYC 241 - Human Development

These resources are specifically for PSYC 241 students. PSYC 241 students still can (and should) use the same resources highlighted on the left as they are beneficial to all 200 level (and up) PSYC research projects.

 Handbook of Child Psychology 6th Edition

 Oxford Handbook of Developmental Behavioral Neuroscience

You will need to login using your WVU username/password off-campus for both of the above books.

Additional Resources:

Childstats.gov

Annual report produced by The Forum on Child and Family Statistics covers areas such as behavior and family environment as well as demographics collected by 22 government agencies.