Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Potomac State College

HIST 200: Practicing History (Vietnam War)

A guide for Cassandra Pritts's Fall 2019 HIST 200 class, helping students find sources on the Vietnam War.

Finding secondary sources

Harvard Library defines secondary sources as:

"Secondary sources were created by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. For a historical research project, secondary sources are generally scholarly books and articles. A secondary source interprets and analyzes primary sources. These sources are one or more steps removed from the event. Secondary sources may contain pictures, quotes or graphics of primary sources."

The Library subscribes to many databases you can use to find secondary sources. Don't restrict yourself to these databases, however, you can also find other books and documentaries in the Library's catalog. Click here to learn more about this.

America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)

If you have used other EBSCOhost products in your other classes (Academic Search Complete, MasterFILE, etc.) you may be more comfortable starting your search for secondary sources here.

Click the link below to access America: History & Life.

JSTOR

JSTOR has an extensive collection of scholarly articles, primary sources, and much more. It is a well-known database for historical research and much more. Be careful when searching for scholarly articles to use the Advanced Search and narrow your item type to Articles.

 

Click the link below to access JSTOR.

PAIS

PAIS Index  provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It includes two databases, PAIS International and PAIS Archive.

Click the link below to access PAIS Index (note, it says PAIS International, but WVU Libraries subscribes to both PAIS Archive and PAIS International which you can search from this portal).

Project MUSE

Project MUSE provides access to many journals relating to world and military history as well as political science. Key journals include Reviews in American History, The Journal of Military History, and more. Project MUSE also has the full-text of historical and political books.

Click the link below to access Project MUSE