It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NSG 276 - Evidence-based Practice and Research: CINAHL - An Introduction
CINAHL with Full Text is a major research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature, with more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982. The database provides full text for more than 550 nursing & allied health journals indexed in CINAHL, of which nearly 400 have cover-to-cover indexing.
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. You can access CINAHL by clicking on the link above.
CINAHLdatabases are the most widely-used and respected research tools for nurses, students and allied health professionals around the globe.
CINAHL provides an easy-to-use interface with basic and advanced search features and searchable cited references. CINAHL Subject Headings help users effectively search and retrieve information and follow the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine (see the next tab for more information on CINAHL Subject Headings).
You don't need to worry about creating an EBSCO account, but the other components of this video are what matter for you -- searching in CINAHL and using CINAHL Subject Headings.
Why use CINAHL over PubMed or Google Scholar?
I already know about Google Scholar and PubMed. Why would I want to use CINAHL? Why can't I just Google it?
Google Scholar only allows for keyword searching -- you will get a lot of irrelevant results and you will not have full-text access to many of the article which come up.
Unlike what's in Google and Google Scholar, you know that the resources that are in CINAHL are relevant for your research problems in your nursing classes.
PubMed and CINAHL both use subject headings -- in fact, CINAHL's are based on PubMed's MeSH headings. But while PubMed indexes many more resources related to medicine and life sciences, not all are full-text. CINAHL will give you access to the full-text content and its coverage is specific to nursing and allied health fields, so you are more likely to find articles relevant to your research problems in your nursing classes.
So in short, when searching on CINAHL, you are much more likely to find what you're looking for and you will not have to search through as much.